Search Committee Members Announced

Dear Fellow Parishioners,

The Vestry of the Church of Ascension met last week to select the members of our Rector Search Committee. The selection was made by a unanimous consensus of the Vestry.

The response to our call for applications was truly awe-inspiring both in terms of the number of people who have offered their service to the church, and in the wealth of talent that Ascension is blessed to draw upon. Each applicant submitted intelligent and thoughtful responses to our questions, and each expressed a deep and abiding love for our parish, and a dedication to building a vibrant and expansive future.

For this reason, the selection process was a difficult one. Ultimately, though, our goal was to build a committee that reflects a broad range of the congregation with a variety of skills and perspectives. I am very pleased to announce the members of our Rector Search Committee:

Eve Beglarian
Barbara Burns
Peter Clark
Janet Fisher
Ned Fitch
Sirkka Kyle
Jennifer Lemaigre
Ethan Mandel

While we have notified the Diocesan Deployment Office of the committee’s formation, we have just learned that Canon Tom Orso will be retiring at the end of this year. We are anticipating a meeting with his successor in early January. As we begin the process of our parish self study, we will be looking for your feedback during this very important phase. We ask for your prayers as we embark on this journey.

Meredith Ward
Search Committee Chair